This is actually a post about the latest food additive craze. Are you thinking that I’m writing about a chemical? A cancer-causing fake sugary substance? A colour dye? No, no, and no.
I’m on about DHA. It’s in the yoghurt, the omega-3 eggs, the milk, and the margarine… and you can get it in your vitamins, too.
The scary thing about this is that DHA can be made from fish oil and many many of the above products fail to state whether the source of their DHA is fish or vegetarian. And that’s the scary part right there for people like me who are hyperallergenic to fish.
And if this isn’t enough, Canadian foodie, food writer, and occassional champion of the peanut allergy (because her hubby is allergic), Lucy Waverman, has graced us yesterday with some lovely allergy friendly recipes in her weekly coloumn the Globe and Mail. And while I absolutely can’t wait to try that vegan & lactose-free chocolate cake out (esp on my lactose intolerant 11 year-old), I am askance at her statement that, “If you are allergic to peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, dairy or seafood, you can feast on these. “ because the Peanut-free Pad Thai has both *fish sauce* and *sambal oelek* (which can have dried shrimp in it depending on who made it) and so thank you very much for your efforts Lucy but that is clearly NOT seafood-free!!!!!!!
Fish and shellfish allergies are usually listed as being among the top ten hyperfood allergies in the world and yet we get so little respect compared to the other items on the top 10. Everything I send to school *has to be* peanut and nut free, but no one stops to take a second glance for DHA, fish sauce, or sambal oelek in their kids’ lunches or on a shorthaul Air Canada flight, for that matter.
At least I have an epipen or two and my parents brought me up to *ask*, “Excuse me, but what is in that?” before trying anything… cold comfort, I know.